You are here

Utrecht University


About Utrecht University

Utrecht University is a research university comprising of seven faculties which collectively span the entire academic spectrum in teaching and research. Founded in 1636, the University is now a modern, leading institute enjoying a growing international reputation. In the Shanghai Ranking, Utrecht University ranks 1st in the Netherlands, 12th in Europe and 48th worldwide.

Utrecht University offers a broad range of 45 undergraduate and 107 graduate programmes, the latter including many English-taught programmes. There are 30,344 students at Utrecht University and 7,500 members of staff. Every year, more than 2,000 international students and researchers stay in Utrecht for variable periods of time.

Ever since its foundation, the University has been located in Utrecht’s historical, medieval town centre. The inner city campus comprises of two faculties. The other faculties are situated at the Uithof Campus, east of the town centre. The Faculty of Medicine is co-governed by University Medical Center Utrecht. A third campus, just outside the town centre, is home to University College Utrecht, Utrecht University’s international undergraduate college.