You are here

Henri Bal wins Euro-Par Achievement Award

Best Computer scientist of 2014

Henri Bal, project leader of COMMIT/project IV-E has received the Euro-Par Achievement Award 2014. Euro-Par is the major European conference series on parallel processing. With the award, Euro-Par has yearly honoured one computer scientist since 2008.

Outstanding and sustained contributions to parallel processing

The 20th Euro-Par conference was held in Porto, Portugal, 25-29 August 2014, and attracted almost 300 participants from all over the world. Henri Bal gave a keynote presentation about the shared research infrastructure for Dutch Computer Science, the Distributed ASCI Supercomputer, which is organized by the ASCI research school. The award was presented by the chair of the Euro-Par Steering Committee, Professor Christian Lengauer, in appreciation of Professor Bal's outstanding and sustained contributions to parallel processing in the Netherlands and beyond, including his research on parallel programming environments and his work on the DAS infrastructure.

The Euro-Par Achievement Award

Since 2008, the Euro-Par Achievement Award is being conveyed at the yearly conference banquet. Recipients are researchers with outstanding merit in parallel computing. Past recipients are:

2014: Henri E. Bal (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
2013: Arndt Bode (TU Munich, Germany)
2012: Barbara Chapman (University of Houston, U.S.A.)
2011: Michel Cosnard (INRIA, France)
2010: Jack Dongarra (University of Tennessee / Oak Ridge National Laboratory, U.S.A.)
2009: Paul Feautrier (ENS Lyon, France)
2008: Ron Perrott (Oxford e-Research Centre, U.K.)


IV-e (e-Infrastructure Virtualization for e-Science Applications)
Ook dit is een COMMIT/project